The Rutgers Center for European Studies (CES) Faculty Advisory Board is comprised of Europeanists from across Rutgers University. Members of the Faculty Advisory Board (FAB) represent a wide variety of disciplines, departments and schools in order to ensure that CES activities are interdisciplinary and have a broad reach across the university and beyond.

The FAB is chaired by the Center Director, Professor Nancy  Sinkoff, and meets officially once per semester. In addition to official meetings, the Director regularly updates FAB members on Center activities and major decisions and solicits their input where appropriate.

Members of the Faculty Advisory Board
Belinda Davis Associate Professor, History
Eric Davis Professor, Political Science
Uri Eisenzweig Professor, Comparative Literature
Former Director, CES
Paul Hanebrink Associate Professor, History
Wolfram Hoefer Assistant Professor of Landscape Architechture, School of Environmental and Biological Sciences
R. Daniel Kelemen Professor, Political Science
Stephen Reinert Professor, Greek Studies and History
Nancy Sinkoff Associate Professor, Jewish Studies and History


Ousseina Alidou Africana Studies
Michael Camossa Agricultural, Food, and Resource Economics
James Niessen Alexander Library
Robin Fox Anthropology
Sarah Blake McHam Art History
Serena Connolly Classics
Leah Kronenberg Classics
Rebecca Walkowitz English
Richard Serrano French
Edyta Bojanowska Germanic, Russian, and East European Languages and Literatures
Emily Van Buskirk Germanic, Russian, and East European Languages and Literatures
Martha Helfer Germanic, Russian, and East European Languages and Literatures
Rudolph M. Bell History
Alastair Bellany History
Leah Devun History
Melissa Feinberg History
Ziva Galili History
Jochen Hellbeck History
Jennifer Jones History
Temma Kaplan History
Samantha Kelly History
James Masschaele History
Bonnie Smith History
Andrea Baldi Italian
Paola Gambarota Italian
Elizabeth Leake Italian
Jeffrey Shandler Jewish Studies
Nancy Sinkoff Jewish Studies and History
Paola Tartakoff Jewish Studies
Stephen Bronner Political Science
R. Daniel Kelemen Political Science
Jan Kubik Political Science
Manus Midlarsky Political Science
James T. Johnson Religion
Tobias Schulze-Cleven School of Management and Labor Relations
Jozsef Borocz Sociology
Nuria Sagarra Spanish and Portuguese
John R. Pucher Urban Planning and Public Policy
Mary Gossy Women's and Gender Studies


This section is a portal for faculty information.

Explore SAS

Link of the Week

An independent source for European Union news: the EU Observer


Archives of previous links

Contact Us

Center for European Studies
Rutgers University, Douglass Campus
102 Nichol Avenue
New Brunswick, NJ  08901

Telephone 848-932-8551
Fax 732-932-1144

Directions to the Center for European Studies